Gostein Action.JPG
 Daniel Gostein, marimba 

Young Artists Concert:

2020 YAC Winner Daniel Gostein

Sunday, March 15, 2020 -- 3:00 p.m.


The health and safety of our community, audience and performing members is paramount.

Following guidelines released by the CDC and CO Dept. of Health & Environment, which ensure the safety of our Front Range community, Jefferson Symphony has decided to call off all March events. More info here. 


Each year JSO invites to our stage sensational, rising talent for a debut with our ensemble. Results of JSO*YAC in January 2020 determine our repertoire. The 2020 Young Artists Competition winner, Daniel Gostein, adds his prize-winning concerto performance to our March concert program.

Also programmed is Tchaikovsky's Serenade for Strings--

a personal-favorite for the composer and stirring, elegant piece for audience members. Beethoven's Second Symphony, written when he was just in his 30s, offers a masterwork from early in Beethoven's ever-developing musical output. 


Gostein Profile.jpg

 Daniel Gostein, marimba 


Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Op. 36            BEETHOVEN

Serenade for Strings, Op. 48                   TCHAIKOVSKY

"Sugaria" Marimba Concerto                            SAMMUT

  guest artist Daniel Gostein, marimba


"Sugaria" Marimba Concerto

(17 minutes)

The concert marimba, typically six feet long and with a five octave range, is so large that soloists dart between low and high ends--artistry becomes a dance as well as music performance. As such, "Sugaria" is an improvisatory, musical dance for marimba and orchestra. The three movements have clear jazz- and Latin-inspired sections; the end result is a thoughtfully vibrant and dazzling work for marimba soloist and orchestra. 

Sammut Profile.jpg

 Eric Sammut 

"Sugaria" was commissioned by the Paris Regional Conservatory and composed during the summer 2006. The premiere took place in April 2007 by Ria Ideta, soloist, with the Paris Conservatory Orchestra conducted by Xavier Delette. In the program the composer writes "I have dedicated this concerto to my daughter Nina." 

Symphony No. 2 in D Major

(33 minutes)





Adagio molto--Allegro con brio


Scherzo: Allegro

Allegro molto

"...for six years now I have been horribly afflicted...  it was only my art that held me back..."

beethoven 1804.jpeg

 L.v. Beethoven

In 1802, Beethoven began a letter to his brothers that was never sent. In this letter, the Heiligenstadt Testment, the composer wrote about his encroaching deafness and opens up about the sinking mood swings he was experiencing. "For six years, I have been horribly afflicted," he mentions. Beethoven was only in his thirties--a young musician and young composer experiencing accelerated hearing loss. Upon the recommendation of his physician, Beethoven went to the spa-town of Heiligenstadt and spent six months coming to terms with his personal ailments and moving forward artistically and creatively. 

"My art held me back..." Beethoven mentions, signifying that his creative output and inner artistry prevailed during this dark time for the young artist--the very act of composition provided Beethoven the solace needed to sway his mood and disposition. The Second Symphony (also his Third Piano Concerto) are two significant pieces composed during Beethoven's time vacationing in Heiligenstadt. What you hear in the symphony are vibrant, almost aggressively cheerful moments for orchestra. It is almost as if Beethoven was aiming to dispel his negative thoughts by way of evocative symphonic writing. Furthermore, the pastoral setting of the Larghetto movement depicts Beethoven's appreciation of the Viennese countryside in which the composer explored while writing this symphony. 

Serenade for Strings in C Major

(30 minutes)



Pezzo in forma di sonatina


"I love this Serenade and fervently hope that it might soon see the light of day."

Tchaik Profile.jpg

 P. Tchaikovsky

During the time he was composing the commanding, blaring 1812 Overture, Tchaikovsky was also writing this heartfelt piece for string ensemble: the Serenade for Strings. The collection of movements contains references to Mozart, folksongs and waltz-step styles; the score has inspired ballet dance companies and has appeared in the soundtracks to major films.


In a letter to Nadezhda von Meck in October 1880, Tchaikovsky described his new work as a suite for string orchestra. "I am now gradually orchestrating it", we read. "The Serenade... I composed from an innate impulse; that is something which arises from having freedom to think, and is not devoid of true worth. I happened to write a Serenade and am sending it to you the day after tomorrow in the form of a full score...I love this Serenade and fervently hope that it might soon see the light of day." The Serenade was performed for the first time in December 1880 at a private concert at the Moscow Conservatory by a ensemble of professors and students as a surprise for Tchaikovsky, who was visiting after long absence from the Conservatory.

Swirly music notes.png

 Join us for a March celebration! 


Let the outstanding musicianship of JSO + our diverse programming create a memorable symphonic event for you. Tickets available now. All seating general admission.